June Reading Wrap-Up

June was one of the best reading months I have had in a very long time. In May, I read some phenomenal books but June only gave me books that became new favorites or books that I just genuinely enjoyed.

I fell head over heels for a lot of these books that I am currently in a book hangover and have no idea what I actually want to read. Thus, I am in the middle of multiple books currently and I am still searching for the one that will completely capture my attention like these books did.

So without further ado, here are all of the amazing books I read during Pride Month!

Love at First Set by Jennifer Dugan

Love at First Set is a perfect queer romance novel that will make you squeal and shed quite a few tears, happy and sad.

Lizzie is such a relatable character from the get-go. She is trapped in a world where she is underappreciated, and her mother is draining her bank account. Her real passion is the gym and wants to find a way to open her own one day, but until then it is just her managing the gym desk and having wild conversations with her best friend, James, about both of their failed love lives.

Lizzie and James have a great relationship even though at times, James can give off the spoiled vibes of David Rose from Schitts Creek. Nonetheless, James is the reason this entire whirlwind of a romance begins as he forces Lizzie to attend his sister’s wedding. And thus the romance begins!

Lizzie and Cara are perfect from the jump. The way Lizzie talks about her first impressions of Cara are absolutely hilarious and raw. As queer women, we are often thought to have more innocent thoughts about our crushes, yet that is definitely not the case. Lizzie goes all in on what she would like to do to Cara and it is truly beautiful to read about queer fantasies that so many of us were forced to suppress.

If you are looking for a novel that gives you the beauty of a budding romance, queer sexual tension and many funny moments, this is the book for you. I found myself in Cara as she is also a Bisexual woman who was settling and doing what society told her to do. She found her way out and so did I. We are both better for it and I absolutely loved the relationship she builds with Lizzie. It is one of the most beautiful romance stories I have ever read.

You can find not only Bi, Lesbian and Gay rep in this book, but there is also anxiety rep! The way Jennifer Dugan writes Lizzie’s anxiety is stunning. It isn’t paragraphs upon paragraphs of an anxiety attack, it is the little moments of anxiety that are woven throughout the pages that make it so much more honest of the anxiety experience. This aspect is fully fleshed out and I truly think it just adds another layer to the story.

Overall, Love at First Set is an honest novel that tackles love, finding yourself and what you want out of life, regardless if that means leaving quite a bit of baggage behind.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke and Other Misfortunes by Eric LaRocca

What the fuck did I just read?!?

Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke and Other Misfortunes is made up of three speculative horror novellas that ask the questions on how far you would go for someone you love, your faith and to be polite. Each story is gruesome and absolutely psychotic but I loved every second of it!

These were the weirdest fucking stories I have ever read, but damn did they have me on the edge of my seat and shouting “what the fuck?!” every five seconds. The intrigue definitely comes from the casual nature in which these horrific conversations and situations are had. It flows within the novellas and no one bats an eye at the psychotic decision making that happens throughout all three of the stories. I never thought I would enjoy anything speculative but 2023 is a new era and I am here for it if I get to read crazy shit like this.

Some live reaction thoughts as I read two of the stories:

– Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke:

  • Can we talk about the Little Christ story!?!? Like WTF!?!?
  • Not this bitch willing to carry a parasite!!!! Agnes is fucking crazy.
  • Page 151: What the actual fuck!?!?

– The Enchantment:

  • This man just turned into a beetle….

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Tell Me What Really Happened by Chelsea Sedoti

Get ready for one of the eeriest YA novels you will ever read.

Told through interviews of four teenagers who were on a camping trip when their friend, Maylee, goes missing, Tell Me What Really Happened is an entrancing novel that has you guessing until the very end.

Petra is one of the four teenagers mixed up in the case and she might be annoying as hell but the dry humor that she offers along with her step-brother, Nolan, is unmatched. I loved the moments where they were just sarcastic and dry because it allowed for some release of the tension that kept building for 400 pages.

Speaking of Nolan, he was definitely my favorite character as he was an odd duck, but had some redeeming qualities about him. I truly felt for him throughout this novel and his storyline completely shattered my heart.

You can also find some Queer and Bi rep in this novel which was unexpected but done very well! It was not overly obsessed over and was just part of who two of the teens were. It was normalized which was very nice to see in a YA novel.

Overall, if you are looking for a super quick read that will have you on your toes until the very end, you should pick up Tell Me What Really Happened immediately.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Going Dark by Melissa De La Cruz

Going Dark is a YA Gone Girl meets revenge story and although very fast-paced and intriguing, it does feel a little too drawn out.

I loved the way this mystery is told through different perspectives and video transcripts but I just don’t think it will be a very memorable read. Although not memorable, it does have a lot to say about the justice system, and how toxic masculinity can create a monster.

I will say my favorite perspective had to be Harper. As she searched to decode the mystery of what happened to Amelia Ashley as well as the secrets that hide further under the surface. It is not a simple case of who done it, as the mystery deepens and you find that there are at least six layers to this mystery. I did enjoy my time when I was physically reading it and I was excited to continue picking up the book but I just don’t feel like I will remember much of it after I pick up my next read.

Going Dark offers some beautiful themes of sisterhood, what it means to be the perfect victim and just how easily hope can turn into revenge.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

How Ya’ll Doing?: Misadventures and Mischief of a Life Well Lived by Leslie Jordan

If you have three hours of your time, please just sit and listen to Leslie Jordan share his life with you.

The way he narrates his well-lived life is quirky, and sincere. He will always be a true gem and light in this world. As someone who has so many fond childhood memories of Leslie Jordan, this book gave me some closure on his very unexpected passing. It brought me joy to know that he was very happy with the way he lived.

I love how Jordan always stood up for what he believed in. He actively chose to give other minorities a platform and listened to the world around him. I’ve truly missed hearing his voice and the second I heard that twang of his, I was immediately transported to a time when I was just a kid, watching Will & Grace in bed with my grandmother. Thank you for giving me some of the fondest memories of my life, Leslie Jordan, you are a gem and there will never be anyone else like you.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Not That Bad: Dispatched From Rape Culture, Edited by Roxane Gay

This is a very difficult book to listen to as it recounts experiences with rape and sexual assault. Although most of the essays are recounting being a woman in this world filled with predators who refuse to understand the word no, we do have a few male perspectives who have been pushed to the wayside as society believes that they cannot be raped or assaulted because at 10-years-old you should be able to “hold your own”.

I applaud the bravery of each of the writers of these essays and want to thank Roxane Gay for giving them the platform to use their voices. The fact that so many readers have and will relate to these stories breaks my heart. I related to a few of these essays and it reminded me that us women put up with a lot of shit just to exist in this world. We are the ones who give life to this planet and yet we are treated like things to be played with and abused.

Not That Bad will frustrate you and make you want to start a war. It will make you want to fight back in a world that does not give you rights to your own body in any capacity, and I urge you to use that fuel to vote, and take back your power. Go to protests, let them hear you roar. Rip his hand off your mouth and scream until it is absolutely impossible for them to ignore you.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

They Were Here Before Us by Eric LaRocca

I didn’t love this one like I did Things Have Gotten Worse Since We Last Spoke and Other Misfortunes, but I did find it intriguing.

This is just another example of how in touch with the world LaRocca is. They just know how to intertwine gruesome horror with relevant societal conversations. This one in particular takes on topics like homophobia, toxic masculinity, and the lengths you would go to for love.

My favorite piece in this novella was the very first one, All that Remains is Yours to Keep. This is a very odd story and is definitely not for the squeamish like all of LaRocca’s work. I legit could not stop laughing at how outrageous this story was. The way the insect speaks about the love of his life is so wild and proves that insects can also be toxic when it comes to love.

Overall, if you are looking to read a short book to get you out of a slump or want something that will just make you laugh and say wtf?! every five seconds, I highly recommend picking up They Were Here Before Us, or any other Eric LaRocca book! (I am currently making my way through all of their books so not sure if they are all good, but the two that I have read have been great!)

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Comments

One response to “June Reading Wrap-Up”

Leave a comment